News: Buhari Appoints Yemi Esan As Acting HOS, Sends Oyo Ita On Indefinite Leave

Buhari Appoints As Acting HOS, Sends On Indefinite Leave


President last night removed Head of the Civil
Service of the Federation (HoCSF), Mrs. Winifred Oyo-Ita and appointed the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Dr. Folashade Yemi -Esan as the acting Head of
The President described his decision as “Stabilisation of the Federal
Civil Service”, but the development came barely 24 hours after he received an investigative report from the Economic and Financial crimes Commission (EFCC) on Mrs. Oyo-Ita.
Oyo-Ita was probed by the anti-graft agency over alleged N3billion fraud in her Office.

To Promote Your Content ( Mixtape, Free Beats, Tracks & Album / EP ) Whatsapp / Call +2348160496928

A statement from the Office of the Secretary to the Government of
the Federation said Oyo-Ita will proceed on “indefinite leave”
pending the conclusion of the investigation by the anti-graft

The statement signed by Willie Bassey said: “President
Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of DR Folashade Yemi-Esan as the Acting Head of the Civil Service of the
Federation with immediate effect.
“Dr. Mrs. Yemi-Esan, who is the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of
Petroleum Resources takes over from Mrs. Winifred Ekanem Oyo-
Ita, who has been directed to proceed on an indefinite leave to
allow the conclusion of the investigation being carried out by the
Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.
“The President has also approved the extension of the tenure of
seven (7) retiring Permanent Secretaries for a period of one
calendar year with effect from 1st October, 2019 to ensure stability
in the Federal Civil Service and effective delivery on the nine
priority areas of the administration as well as the mandates given
to the new Ministers.
“The affected Permanent Secretaries are: Mrs. Georgina Ehuriah
(Ministry of Interior); Mrs. Ifeoma I. Anagbogu (Women Affairs);
Mrs. Grace Gekpe (Information & Culture);Dr. Umar M. Bello
(Agriculture & Rural Development; Suleiman Mustapha Lawal
(Foreign Affairs); Mrs. Comfort C. Ekaro (Water Resources); Mr.
Olusegun A. Adekunle (General Services Office) in the (Office of the
Secretary to the Government of the Federation)
“Similarly, Mr. President has directed the Office of the Head of the
Civil Service of the Federation to commence the process for the
selection of new Permanent Secretaries to replace all retiring
Permanent Secretaries.
“The decision of Government to extend the tenure of these
Permanent Secretaries is premised on the need to ensure that the
new Ministers are properly guided, briefed about their sectors and
to ensure that a solid foundation is laid for the delivery on the
Presidential Mandate which they jointly signed.
“The Permanent Secretaries will also help the Ministers to manage
the process for the preparation of the 2020 Budget in line with the
commitment of Government to return to the January-December
budget circle and help develop various policies and programmes
aimed at lifting 100million Nigerians out of poverty in the next 10
“The action of Mr. President is in exercise of the powers conferred
under Section 171 (2) d of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal
Republic of Nigeria (as amended).”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *